39 Weeks and 5 Days

image

Well, it’s almost here.  Our estimated due date.  It seriously feels like just yesterday that we found out.  Except that that was on April 7th and it was warm, whereas now it is December 16th and we’re in the middle of an Arctic Blast.

I had a serious meltdown when I left the OB’s office yesterday.  She told me that next week when I go in, due to the holidays, we have to get an induction on the hospital schedule for Dec 30th so that I deliver by 42 weeks.  I left the doctor’s and was in tears.  I absolutely do NOT want an induction unless we’ve exhausted all other options.  But, she wouldn’t even listen to me.

I really dislike the doctor I saw yesterday.  She seriously has one of those I am a doctor therefore I am god complexes.   I think if I had had any other doctor or midwife in the practice yesterday it would have been better.  The doctor I saw yesterday doesn’t like natural births and I’ve been told that she really pushes her patients when they’re in labor.  Which is what she was trying to do to me yesterday.  When I told her that I didn’t want a cervical check she got really pissy with me and told me I was being unreasonable.

Fortunately, I know the next time she’s on call in the maternity ward and I’m aiming to not be there that day.  If I have to, I know John’s got my back.  Plus, we hired an awesome doula who can run some interference plays for us.

So, if you have any vibes or good luck wishes out there in reader land, I can use them for two things:

1) letting me go into labor naturally before an induction becomes imminent

AND

2)I had a second, on-campus, full day interview last week.  It is seriously everything I could want in a job, so I’m hoping to hear something good.

1 Comment

Filed under Baby P, Natural Birth, OB Appointments, Uncategorized

One response to “39 Weeks and 5 Days

  1. Go, Doula, go! Glad she’ll be there with you to fight for your rights! Plus like you said, John will make sure everything goes well, too. Hang in there and stay positive! Everything should work out great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

