Flowers, Bidding, and Chocolate Cake

Yesterday was John’s birthday.  He turned 31 this.  Last year, for his birthday, I threw him a surprise party at a local restaurant.  This year, back to low key family dinners.  We had his parents, sister, and brother-in-law over for dinner and desert.

John smoked a turkey breast on the grill (he’s a huge barbecuer).  I was responsible for everything else, including the homemade chocolate cake that he always requests.  This year, instead of doing a buttercream or chocolate frosting, I did chocolate ganache ontop of the cake.  Very over the top chocolatey.  Yay for vanilla ice cream!  You can find the recipe for the cake and icing on our food blog.

Dark Chocolate Cake with Dark Chocolate Ganache Icing

I know it’s not the most amazing decorating job, but I’m planning on taking care of this issue.  I’m taking a 4-part class on cake decorating in October.  I think it’s going to be a lot of fun.

Today we went to the PA Horticultural Society Fall Garden Festival at the Philly Navy Yard (which is where John works).  This is the PHS that runs the Flower Show every year.  We met up with two of our good friends (one of which is the writer of the Cape on the Corner).  It was a gorgeous day in the city.  We couldn’t have asked for better weather.

While we were there, I bought a new African violet, which means that my spider plant, which is having over 30 babies, needs to find a new window.  The new African violet will join her two older siblings in my dining room.  I’ll have to write something up on them soon.

We also attended an auction to benefit the PHS.  It was our first time ever at an auction.

The auctioneer

Our auction paddle

We didn’t buy anything, although we did bid on a few things.  Huge, sturdy tomato plant cages, hydrangea, and a very cute garden gnome.  John was so intent on winning the garden gnome that he kept bidding even though it got to $45.  I had to pin his hand that was holding the paddle down!

One of my favorite bloggers was recently giving pointers to newer bloggers.  The one that caught my eye the most was to blog every day, even if it’s just a sentence or two.  I think I’m going to try to give that a try, so you might see a lot of new posts soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Birthdays, Gardening

Leave a Reply

