Favorite Movies

I’m sure I’m not in the minority when I say that I have favorite movies that I can watch again and again and again.  I have to admit that most of my favorites fall into the category of comedies.  Why?  Probably because I’m pretty serious and bookish IRL.  It fits in with the whole college professor profession 😛

I mention the favorite movies idea because tonight I’m having the pleasure of watching, yet again, what is one of my all time favorites, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, starring Nia Vardalos and John Corbett.  Pretty much every time that this movie is on TV I end up watching it.  We also own it on DVD, but that’s a whole different story.  I know just about every word and every phrase.  Lines of its dialogue end up in my everyday conversations.

My Big Fat Greek Wedding

I think that for movies to really resonate with a person there has to be something in the movie with which the person can relate.  Here, it’s pretty easy to see the similarities.  Toula’s big Greek family reminds me not only of my father’s family, which is huge, loud, and Irish, but also of John’s family, which is huge, loud, and Italian.  Toula feels out of place, at times, with her family, and there are definitely times when I feel out of place with mine (both my side and my ILs side).

So, what are some of your favorite movies that you can watch over and over?

On another note, I’m hoping to have pictures of the nursery up soon.  Once the furniture was put in place, we decided that we didn’t like the blue paint.  Therefore, we’re repainting the bottom of the walls with this color (Behr’s Gothic Amethyst, although we had it color matched at Sherwin-Williams):

Gothic Amethyst

A little grayer and less “happy” than the blue that it’s going to be painted over.  We’ve realized that “happy” paint colors don’t really make us too happy.

Happy Labor Day, Everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

