Nursery Designs: Opinions Needed

Right now we’re trying to figure out what we want the nursery to look like.  Honestly, we really don’t know what we want.  I don’t want to just paint the walls a plain color but I want something with a little pizzazz.  John just doesn’t want something too busy.

Here is one picture that we like:

We both like this, though not necessarily in these colors.  I don’t think it would be too hard to do, because it is just straight lines that need to be taped off.  I think it would look fun behind the crib, but not necessarily the whole wall, maybe just above a chair rail.  Who knew that argyle would be cool on modern nursery walls?

Here’s the other picture that we both like:

I don’t particularly like the shades of colors that are being used, but I think that the polka dots are really neat.  This would be really super easy to do on the walls with paint, even though the website I found it on used stickers (I’m not afraid of playing with paint.  If something goes wrong, you just paint over it!).  We have some shelves that are currently white that will go on the walls and I want to put the baby’s name up in wooden letters covered with fabric.  I think I would make both of those in stripes, in similar colors to the polka dots, to contrast with the dots.  But, how many walls to put the polka dots on?

There is only one really good sized blank wall.  That’s where the crib is going.  Two walls have windows on them (which are being replaced with low-e windows within the next month, we’re having the estimate done early next week) and the final wall has a nice sized closet and the door.

So, what do you guys think?  We could use some opinions as I’d like to start painting within the next week or so (I want to have the nursery done (other than furniture) before I start teaching again in September).  Please leave comments here or on FB, as we really would like to know what you think.

PS.  Yes, we do know what we’re having, but we’re not telling anyone other than family until we have the official anatomy scan at beginning of August, just in case there was a mix-up.

PPS.  I can officially apply for my K-12 Bio license in NJ.  I got an A in my class 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Nursery Designs: Opinions Needed

  1. Kristen

    I LOVE the argyle, Shannon! Never seen anything like that before.

    Honestly, it would depend on how you plan on using the room in the future. Will you have more kids? And if so, will this room stay the nursery or will it grow with the child?

    I’d do the argyle because I think it would grow well with the child and wouldn’t look too juvenile. I’d do it gender-neutral, personally, so I could keep it up and use it for any of my future babies too. 🙂

  2. Valorie

    I like the argyle. But not the gray paint, the room looks like a box and would make me claustrophobic. But still a cool pattern. The dots just don’t do it for me.

    As an alternative have you looked at wall murals? There’s a cool website I just came across: http://www.mywonderfulwalls.com. I’m not sure if they have anything that will go with your theme but maybe another site does.

  3. Jessi

    I’m sure you can guess… but I adore the polka dots 🙂 But I also love the argyle. Maybe polka dots for a girl… argyle for a boy.

  4. I like the dots which you could include disney characters since you two like disney. The argyle remind me to much of the socks you bought your grandfather. I will have to actually see what we are planning for this new baby.

    • Toni(MIL)

      love the dots, maybe on the longest wall and then paint the other walls one of the colors of the dots…to me, the argyle looks too busy for a baby’s brain!

  5. you should look on the rate my space page of hgtv.com. i like the argyle over the polka dots, but i do see how the argyle may be a tad busy.

    congrats on your A! yay!

Leave a Reply

