I Love my FIFs

What’s a FIF – a Freaky Internet Friend.  And yes, I have a few of them, somewhere in the 15-20 range.  They’ve been with me through a lot in the past few years.  We met while planning our weddings online through a popular wedding forum.  When I first started contributing, did I ever think I’d still be speaking to them almost three years later?  Hell No!  But, oddly enough, they’ve become some of my closest friends, in a real sense of the word.  We’ve moved from weddings to houses to babies.  Who knows how long we’ll all be friends, but for now, it works.

We’re like real-time pen-pals.  I’ve only met some of them in real life a few times, because most of them live about 330 miles away from me, back in my hometown.  A few of them I’ve never met IRL, because we’ve never been in the same place at the same time.  You’d think this would stifle a relationship, but it really doesn’t.  I can be pretty much completely honest with them, and we bicker and fight like IRL friends would.  We have such different personalities, and I think that’s why it works.

So, to all of my FIFs out there (You know who you are!), I just wanted to take a moment to say, Thanks!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I Love my FIFs

  1. Dream

    Aww, thank you for being a great friend as well, Shannon. 🙂 I love our FIF life. It is pretty amazing. And a barrel of LOLz!

  2. Sonya

    Awesome post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

