The Flower Show

I had the opportunity to go to the Flower Show with my MIL, Toni, two Fridays ago.  We’ve been to the Show several times together, although we didn’t go last year (I couldn’t get any time off since I was saving days for the wedding and HM).  For those of you that don’t know, the Flower Show here in Philly is the largest indoor flower show in the world.  It’s amazing what you get to see.  Here’s the link to the website for the show: The Flower Show.  They are already getting ready for Flower Show 2011 (Springtime in Paris, how exciting!)

This year’s theme was “Passport to the World.”  The different exhibitors did themes from various countries, including Thailand, India, South Africa, Australia, Urban (because that’s a country now apparently), Ireland, and of course the USA.   There were some gorgeous displays.  Here’s some pictures:

This hot air balloon was displayed when you entered the show. It was made entirely of different colored roses.

The Urban Garden. This was done in a converted box car.

In honor of America

This "South African" Giraffe was made entirely from flowers (lots of orchids) as was the bird on his back

As expected from "Holland", lots of Tulips!

Peacocks and Elephants in India

Along with the thematic displays at the flower show, there are also the competitions.  I love seeing the competitive flowers because you always see some interesting varieties that you’ve never seen before.

Some interesting crocuses

Some beautiful tulipsThis year at the flower show I ended up buying a new peony, three dahlias, and two new African Violets.  I think I behaved myself very well.  Also this year at the show, the PA Wine and Spirits were having a Wine and Spirits tasting.  I got a little buzzed trying several different wines and spirits (although I have to admit that the Pomegranate Van Gogh Vodka was absolutely one of the most hideous things I have ever tasted in my life!).  They also had a special guest doing a book signing (because she has a new book and new wines).  So, Toni and I waited in line to meet Lidia Bastianich!  I had to get a book signed for John because he loves Lidia and watches her on TV all of the time.  (Please excuse how red I am – did I mention that I had had a bit too much to drink?)

Myself, Lidia, and Toni

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Flower Show

  1. Pingback: Flowers, Bidding, and Chocolate Cake « John and Shannon's World

Leave a Reply

